Free Submission Public Relations &
Deutsch English

Organizations & Institutions

Success for Abbeyfeale and Ardcanny at Burial Grounds Awards

Print article Print article
2013-12-12 12:42:57 - Burial grounds in Abbeyfeale and Ardcanny have been named overall winners of the 2013 County Limerick Burial Grounds Awards which were announced at a ceremony held in Limerick County Hall last night (Wednesday, 11 December 2013).

Voluntary parish committees, community councils, groups and individuals from across County Limerick participated in the 6th annual awards scheme, which is organised by the Water Services section of Limerick County Council.

The awards scheme involves two categories, ancient and modern, which includes individual winners for each of the County’s four Electoral Areas.

Ardcanny Burial Ground picked up the overall winner’s award in the Ancient section, while Reilig Ide Naofa (St Ita's graveyard) in Abbeyfeale was named the overall winner of the Modern section.

Councillor John Sheahan, Cathaoirleach of Limerick County Council congratulated participants for their efforts to maintain burial grounds throughout the County during the year.

He added: “The Council’s Water Services Section, which manages the County’s graveyards, depends very heavily on the

combined hard work and commitment of community groups and individuals for the upkeep and maintenance of the County’s burial grounds. For the past 6 years, the Council has run the Burial Grounds Awards ceremony to recognise the hard work of the many hundreds of people involved by publically honouring a few. I am glad to see that the spirit of volunteerism is alive and well in County Limerick.”

According to Ms. Josephine Cotter Coughlan, Director of Services stated: “Each year, the Council assists the work of local burial ground committees through a modest grant. A large number of groups and individuals looking after burial grounds throughout the County have this year benefited from such grants, which have helped to subsidise petrol and machine maintenance costs. The work carried out has assisted the Council in its management of the County’s burial grounds and for that we are extremely grateful. It has particularly enabled the Council, through the local Area Offices, to focus on other graveyard maintenance work such as boundary wall repair and consolidation to the ruined churches.”

Burial Ground awards Electoral Area winners (Ancient section):
1st Ardcanny Burial Ground (overall category winner), 2nd Knockpatrick Burial Ground, 3rd place Kilmoylan Burial Ground (RATHKEALE); 1st Raheen Burial Ground, 2nd Ballybrood Burial Ground, 3rd Clonkeen Burial Ground (ANNACOTTY); 1st Ballingarry (Knocklong) Burial Ground, 2nd Kilquane Burial Ground, 3rd Temple Mary (Cooleen) Burial Ground (KILMALLOCK); and 1st Kilmeedy Burial Ground, 2nd Templeglantine Burial Ground, 3rd Kilfergus Burial Ground (NEWCASTLE WEST).

Burial Ground awards Electoral Area winners (Modern section):
1st Place Reilig Ide Naofa, Abbeyfeale (overall category winner), 2nd place Ardagh New Burial Ground, 3rd place Monagea Burial Ground (NEWCASTLE WEST); 1st Kilfinane Burial Ground, 2nd Ballylanders Burial Ground, 3rd Kilbehenny Burial Ground (KILMALLOCK); 1st ReilIg Mhuire, Askeaton, 2nd Kilcoleman West, 3rd Taylor’s Cross, Fedamore (RATHKEALE), and 1st Caherelly Burial Ground, 2nd Doon Extension Burial Ground, 3rd St. Josephs Burial Ground, Castleconnell (Annacotty).


Notes to Editor:
- For further information please contact Mark Dunphy of Dunphy PR on 086-8534900 or

Mark Dunphy

Mark Dunphy
Phone: 00353868534900

Disclaimer: If you have any questions regarding information in these press releases please contact the company added in the press release. Please do not contact pr-inside. We will not be able to assist you. PR-inside disclaims contents contained in this release.
Latest News
Read the Latest News


Terms & Conditions | Privacy | About us | Contact