2014-03-27 00:43:21 - This new service allows office and private emails to remain confidential by allowing for the self-destruction of any email that the sender chooses.
Why regular email is not secure
Regular email is usually stored in three places; your computer, your service provider's server and the recipient's computer. You can delete your email from your computer, but you have no control over your friend's computer or your service provider's server. So your personal or confidential information can linger on forever without your consent or knowledge.
Then, a thoughtless friend or associate may carelessly allow someone else to see your confidential email. Or someone can read your confidential email if your service provider's server gets hacked.
Why some email encryption services fall short
An email service that encrypts your email and requires the recipient to decrypt it doesn't solve the problem of the recipient letting your email lie around
on their computer forever for everyone to see.
An email service that causes your email to disappear after being read can still be read by someone who intercepts it.
An email service that requires the recipient to subscribe to their service greatly limits who you can send email to.
EmailDust.com solves all of these problems
The email you create with EmailDust is never stored on your computer and never stored on the recipient's computer. It is only saved temporarily on our server -- in ENCRYPTED form,
Your email then gets deleted from our server (your account) as soon as the recipient opens it.
Your email also disappears from the recipient's screen within seconds. (You can adjust how long you want to allow the recipient to read your email.)
Your email is never actually sent through the internet or email system. What is sent to the recipient is a link to your message on our server. So even if someone intercepts your email they cannot read your message without first cut-n-pasting the link into a browser. And even that will not work if the recipient has already opened it first. Once the recipient clicks on the link, it never works again.
That's right, this link works only once. So after the first display of your message, no one, not even the recipient, can ever see your message again.
To add to the security of your email, the recipient has only three minutes (which can be adjusted by you) to click that link to your message. Once three minutes are up, the link no longer works and your message is safe from prying eyes. So even if the recipient walks away from their computer without reading your message, the link will expire shorty and after that there's no chance of your message falling into the wrong hands.
Another layer of security with EmailDust is that in the short amount of time that your message resides on our server, it's always in encrypted form. Which means that even a hacker couldn't read your email.
What else can EmailDust be used for?
EmailDust can be used for more than just sending disappearing email. Let's say you regularly have to send out confidential information, like account numbers, credit card numbers, social security number, date of birth, etc. You can send any or all of this in an email that you can set not to delete itself from your account when the recipient opens it.
This way, you can send the same information again and again, as you wish.
But regardless of whether or not your message automatically deletes itself from your account, it's always stored in encrypted form, it's never stored on your computer or the recipient's computer, and the recipient still has a limited amount of time to open your email and a limited amount of time to read your email before the email expires and can no longer be read on the recipient's end.